I know,  I know, my post was a little delayed, but I fully intend to make it up to you in the form of these delicious biscuits. And at any rate, what would a new year be without the chance of redeeming and revolutionizing past failure or ‘ahem’ plain absentmindedness? This New Year will certainly  hold new beginnings for me. Not only have I developed a new-found appreciation for writing and sharing my cooking enterprises , I can now share my passions with a far wider audience then I had ever previously imagined. Blogging fills me with a real anticipation that I can hopefully offer some inspiration to other budding bloggers and find a new connection and insight into the web.

My fully attainable (optimistically) resolutions:

1. Expand and develop  drizzled with chocolate

2. Focus on the organic, or at the very least, healthier aspect of cooking

3. Participate in some community service

4. Run in some more 5K runs

5. Walk the dog routinely

Hope everyone enjoyed their holidays, Happy 2011!

Now to the part you’ve been drooling for, crescent jam biscuits (cookies). Adapted from Smitten Kitchen’s Crescent Jam and cheese cookies.

Ingredients:

2 sticks of butter (soften)

8oz of ricotta cheese (leave on a paper towel to harden slightly)

2 tbs sour cream

1/4 tsp vanilla extract

2 cups all purpose flour (with additional flour for rolling out the dough)

Pinch of salt

1 jar jam

1 small bowl milk (to brush biscuits before baking)

1 small bowl powdered sugar (sprinkle on top of baked biscuits)

Method:

1. Use mixer to cream the butter in a large bowl. Push the ricotta cheese through a sieve and add to the butter and mix the two. After adding the sour cream and vanilla extract, using a separate smaller bowl to sift flour and salt together. In small additions, whisk the flour mixture into the buttery mixture. Chill the finished dough for a minimum of 2hrs and 30 mins.

2. Preheat the oven to 400°F . Thoroughly flour the work surface and rolling pin, and roll out the dough very thinly. Using a large circular cookie cutter cut out circles form the dough. Fill with 2 tbs of jam (less is always more as the jam tends to explode out of the pastry when used in large quantities). Fold the circles over  and seal the sides by pressing down firmly several times around the edge.

3. Brush with milk and bake for 17-19 minutes (until the tops are golden). Wait till cool and dust with the powdered sugar. These sticky delights can be paired perfectly with hot chocolate or early morning coffee.

