My first and foremost love where cheese is concerned, is goat’s. The sweet tang only accentuated by musky overtones first awakened my taste buds in a small Mediterranean restaurant in the heart of London. I can still remember the waiter clasping steaming piles of food and my bruschetta, while my parents and I waited in fervent anticipation. It was love at first bite and I haven’t tasted any cheese that stuck with me so profoundly  since. Okay, I’m being dramatic but this cheese is really good! My latest cookbook contained a recipe on Goat’s cheese and olive tart, and so was perfect to share as my first savory meal on drizzled with chocolate. This is adapted from the recipe book Vegetarian cooking-a common sense guide by bay books.

Ingredients:

The base:

1 cup all-purpose flour

1/4 cup olive oil

1/3 cup iced water

The filling:

1 tbs olive oil

2 diced onions

1 tsp thyme leaves

1/2 cup ricotta cheese

3/4 cup goat’s cheese

12 or more pitted olives

1 egg slightly beaten

1/4 cup heavy whipping cream

    

1. Sift the flour and a pinch of sea salt into a large bowl, then make a hollow in the middle. Pour the olive oil into the well, and mix in with a knife till the mixture is crumbly. In small additions pour in the iced water mixing in with the knife each time. Gather dough into a ball and cover with cling wrap. Refrigerate for 30 minutes. If the dough become too moist or too dry, feel free to add more flour or water.

2.  In a pan, cook the onions in the olive oil, covered  and on low heat for 30 minutes. About 15 minutes through the cooking time add the thyme, and salt and pepper to season.

3. Preheat the oven to 350°F and place the tart pan inside to warm up. Flour the work surface and roll out the pastry. After about 8 minutes, lift the pan out and place the pastry inside. The excess overlapping pastry should be folded back inside the pan to form a crust. Fill the inside with a layer of onions. Sprinkle or spread on the cheese followed by the olives and thyme.

4. Mix the egg and cream together and pour over the top of the tart. Bake the tart for 45 minutes until the pastry is golden.  The tart is fabulous as a light dinner or picnic lunch. 

P.S. Since the Crescent Biscuits were such a huge hit, I used the remaining dough today with strawberry and blackberry jam as a dessert.

